Tags

, ,


What to say about this song?

Good question, especially since there doesn’t seem to be a recording online. I chose it because I really enjoy the Duhks (I admit that I was severely underwhelmed by their last concert, with a new lead singer, and new songs that sound like Celine Dion Does Nashville), and this particular piece is haunting, slightly lonely, but not too sad. And also not too strong of a bluegrass influence, because bluegrass starts to sound a lot like country and while you didn’t say you hate country, you didn’t say you liked it either, and I know people feel strongly about country. (And rap, but I didn’t send you any of that, either.) I’m not a huge fan of country, as it happens. But I will defend to the death the distinction between ‘My wife stole my pickup truck and ran off with my boss’s dog’ and bluegrass, folk, and roots music. Still, even when I picked out bands that hover in that grey area (The Wailin’ Jennys are in this category, too), I tried to pick out songs that had a bit less twang to them.

It’s interesting how we categorise music, and don’t let ourselves listen to certain songs based on the genre label they carry. If someone had handed me The Duhks’ first album and told me to listen to this great new country band, and if I had actually listened to it, I think I would have told them they were insane, because this was clearly folk music. If they’d handed me the third album and said the same thing, I don’t think I would have liked it, and I don’t think I would have listened to anything else by the group. (For the record, I like the third album just fine.) And I’d have missed out horribly.

So, I guess the moral of the story is: one girl’s country is another girl’s folk. Or something like that.

The Duhks are pretty versatile. I couldn’t have imagined a zydeco-influenced cover of Leonard Cohen until I heard it:


Uh… I have no idea what that movie the images are coming from is.

Though, really, it was their instrumental pieces that sold me on the band:

