Tags

, , , ,


I finally had time to fiddle with document sharing, and–who knew–it’s easy! So, anyone who’s interested in what I had to say about KPD this past February can find my reflection (as a .pdf) here.

A few caveats: this was written as a seminar paper, for a group of professional theologians, most of whom were already generally familiar with the Israel/Palestine conflict, the boycott/divestment/sanctions movement, and feminist thought, though less familiar with the nuances of Jewish theology. And it was written with a theoretical limit of 10 pages, which I clearly transgressed.
It is not an exhaustive analysis, but focuses on what I consider to be problem areas in the document and in its reception. If I were to revise it for more general circulation, it would be a bit longer, and I would be giving a lot more attention to filling in background on those issues–especially the use of post-holocaust theology, which, as per my earlier post on the subject, I am coming to understand is absolutely crucial to the way the BDS debate is being framed and conducted in churches.
One of my colleagues in the Church of Sweden objected to my use of an earlier draft in my analysis of section 4.2.5, suggesting that I was confusing a discarded draft for the official statement. Here, my background in historical scholarship may be leading me astray; to me, a document’s history of revision is extremely important in terms of illuminating the document’s intended meaning, and I treated the official KPD and the version circulated internationally a few weeks prior to the launch just as I would treat two different sketches for a monument, or two drafts of a letter from 1921. However, readers who are unconvinced by this approach will probably also find the resulting analysis unconvincing.
Finally, while the analysis was prompted by my position as a researcher at an institute partially under the sponsorship of the Church of Sweden, it in no way represents an official position of either my institute or the Church as a whole (and nor does anything else I write).

